Issue date: 
Friday, 9 August 2013

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners of the Script Writer Awards NZ 2013 (SWANZ).  The winners of each category are highlighted in bold text below.

Best TV Comedy Episode

Agent Anna, Episode 2 - Maxine Fleming and Vanessa Alexander
Sunny Skies, Episode 2  - Sam Smith, Amanda Alison, Jamie Bowden, Dean Butler, Leon Wadham
The Factory, Episode 2 - Michael Bennett
Flat 3, Episode 2 -  Roseanne Liang

Best TV Drama Episode

The Blue Rose, Episode 13 - Rachel Lang
Harry, Episode 2 - Oscar Kightley & Christopher Dudman
The Almighty Johnsons, Episode 10 - Natalie Medlock & James Griffin
The Almighty Johnsons, Episode 7 - James Griffin

Best Play

Motel - April Phillips
The Guilt Sniffer - Mark Prebble & Marion Shortt
Horses and Other Farm Animals - Louise Tu'u
Goodbye My Feleni - David Mamea

Best Feature Film Script

White Lies - Dana Rotberg
Mt. Zion - Tearepa Kahi
The Weight of Elephants - Daniel Joseph Borgman
Mr. Pip - Andrew Adamson

Best Factual Script

He Toki Huna: New Zealand in Afghanistan - Annie Goldson
The Confessions of Prisoner T - Michael Bennett
New Zealand From Above - James Heyward & Bruce Morrison

Best Short Film Script

Blankets - Casey Whelan
Friday Tigers (Ngā Taika o te Rāmere) - Aidee Walker
Tuffy - Matthew Sunderland
I'm Going to Mum's - Lauren Jackson

Unproduced Feature Film Script Competition

Dave's Tour - Denis Edwards
Humpy - Murray J Duncan
The Chatterton Virgin - Sue Reidy
Billy Bold - Mike Smith
Truthtellers - Justene Musin
Where There's a Will - James Griffin
Anti-Social - Blair Soper
Miracle Rd - Simon Hall
Parallel Lives - Catherine Blackwell
Trouble at The Mill - Simon McCarthy

The following awards were announced on the night:

New Writer Award

Daniel Joseph Borgman

Mentorship Award

Hone Kouka

The Awards took place on Thursday 8 August in Auckland. 

SWANZ is sponsored by Greenstone TV, South Pacific Pictures and RPM.

For more information, see the New Zealand Writers Guild website.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 14 August 2013